Wyards Farm is a little-known eighteenth centrury gem of a house, hidden away in the fields between Alton and the village of Beech. Apart from those who stay there, this is a rare opportunity to see round the house and to enjoy a cream tea - outside if the weather is kind.
The house was known to Jane Austen because of the Lefroy connection. The Jane Austen Society wrote in 1958 on the matter:
"Wyards is a house of Hampshire, red brick, of mediaeval foundations with Tudor additions; it received its present appearance in the 1680's except that in the 18th century, sash windows were added though the leaded casements were retained. Wyards has the particular interest that it was a house well known to Jane Austen during the last two years of her life. In 1815, it was a farm-house, and part of it was rented by young Mr. and Mrs. Ben Lefroy. The latter had been Anna Austen, the daughter of Jane's eldest brother James by his first wife. Anna's connection with her aunt was extremely close. When she was left motherless at two years old, she was sent to Steventon Rectory where she was the special care of her aunts Cassandra and Jane, then twenty-one and nineteen."
The current owners are Ann and William Monk. William is a distant relation of the Lefroy family but did not know their connection with Wyards until they had moved in. That's what you call provenance!